My High School Year in Canada

Track, Softball, Peggy's Cove and Halifax

“ When something bad happens. You have three choices. You can either let it define you. Let it destroy you or you can let it strengthen you. “

I will start my story today with something different than normal. For the people who know me, they know I have had a knee injury for a really long time. The pain in my knees got worse so I went to see a doctor. I got papers to go to the physiotherapist. Fun fact he is Dutch and still my English is really good right now explain pain is hard in another language. So I went to the physiotherapist and after a few quick tests he saw it isn’t my knee who is weak but it are my right hip muscles who are weak. So I have a bunch of exercises now to get this stronger. My coach wanted a paper from the physiotherapist that it was okay if I did running and jumping events during track. I was planning on a 100m, 200, 4x100m, long jump, 80m hurdles and maybe triple jump or 400m. When I ask for this the answer was something else than I expected. No running and jumping for me till my muscles are stronger. People who know me a little know I can be really cocky so I was going for the 100m. I wanted to go both days so I started practising for shot put and discus. I asked if softball was okay and I can do that if I’m careful. I have noticed that my hip is weak so for sure I will. I wanted to explain this short because I am totally not a person who throws in track. The sport adventures have ended for me so you won’t read a lot about it anymore. For me a big different because I went a lot for runs in the weekends and at school I was always busy with sports. But now I will use my time for the exercises.

Now I will start with what happened the last two weeks. Thursday may 14th we had our first softball game. I was nervous because I didn’t know how to play softball actually. I knew some of the rules and have watched some baseball games but that was it. I didn’t know how to hit the ball so that didn’t go well. The rest of the game went good. We lost but we had to play against a team that wins provincials so we didn’t expect to win. The weekend was a long weekend because we had no school on Monday. Friday I went with some friends to Bridgewater to go out for supper and some shopping, I bought shoes because I don’t have enough shoes here yet, only around 12/13 pairs. Saturday the weather was beautiful so I lay outside in the sun and didn’t do a lot more. Sunday I made some homework and we went out for supper in the evening with the family. Monday I didn’t do a lot, in the evening I went to Tim Horton’s with Vivi. Tuesday back to school. After school we had another softball game. This game went a lot better than the first game. I even hit the ball a few times. Wednesday was the first day of Track Districts. My events for the day were discus and the 100m. The discus was first. I didn’t expect a lot from it but we had a lot of fun. I came last but all the girls practise probably a lot more than I do. Later the day I had my 100m. I was in the second heat and came 3th in my heat with a time of 15.16. I came 8th from the 14 girls. The first 7 got to run the finals and from there the first 4 are going to regionals. Also there I didn’t do bad for the first time. Thursday was the second day of district. I only had shot put. After the first throws I was 8th. We had to throw a couple more times. I ended 7th which is not bad for also my first time. Friday may 22th was our first day of Softball districts. We played a really good first game but lust at the end of the game. Because of all the rain our second game got cancelled and moved to Saturday. Saturday we played three games back to back to back. We started our first game late because of the bad weather. We played a really good game and lost at the end of the game again. The other games we lost also but we played really good and improved a lot since the first game we ever played together. The other teams have played for a long time together and most of the players play softball for a long time. On our team we have a lot of players who played softball for their first year. We improved a lot and had a great time together. We maybe have some more practise games but the real season is over for us. I learned a lot, know all the rules, can hit the ball a lot better and catch the ball a lot more than I did before. I even got the question a few times if I played ball before because that is thought. I guess that’s a good compliment. Sunday we had a NSISP trip to Halifax, Peggy’s Cove and we went whale watching. We first went to Peggy’s Cove. It was really cold but it was nice to see the lighthouse and it was beautiful. After Peggy’s Cove we went somewhere to have a pick nick. We had some really good sandwiches, nachos and fruit. After lunch it was time to go to Halifax and go whale watching, or at least that is what we thought we were going to do. On the boat we found out we didn’t even go to the ocean. It was a nice trip but I wouldn’t do it again. After the boat trip we got some shopping time.

In less than two weeks I will show mama and papa everything around here. It’s weird that the end is really coming close. 37 days and I will be home.

Love,

Sanne

Reacties

Reacties

Hanneke en Piet

Weer een heel verhaal, jammer dat je nu even niet zoveel kunt sporten, maar gelukkig heb je het hele jaar wel met alles mee kunnen doen en nu even tijd voor andere dingen. Liefs, pappa en mamma

Dick La Brijn

Jammer van het sporten maar zo te lezen en te zien vermaak je je prima. Nog veel plezier de komende maand.

Groet van Dikkie Dick

Edith Veldhorst

Jammer dat je niet kunt sporten, maar je beleeft genoeg andere dingen. Wat gaat de tijd toch snel!!! Moet je daar ook weer afscheid nemen, nog maar even niet aan denken.....
Piet en Hanneke goede reis en heel veel plezier samen met jou Sannen en je familie daar.
Lieve groetjes,
Edith

Edith Balvers

Hoi, Sanne.
Heel veel plezier en een fijne tijd, samen met je vader en
moeder toegewenst. Geniet ervan.
Groeten van Edith Balvers.

Jenny

nou Sanne nog even en pa en ma zijn bij jou in het verre Canada en kunnen ze bekijken wat je daar allemaal heb gedaan en mee heb gemaakt ja en dan weer afscheid nemen van de mensen waar je veel plezier en een hele mooie tijd heb gehad nou geniet er nog van
liefs van Jan en Jenny en de rest van de fam.

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active