My High School Year in Canada

Last story written in Canada

" Beginnings are usually scare and endings are usually sad, but everything in between that makes it all worth it.

It has been a while since my last story. I have been busy with learning a bit for exams and of course mom and dad came.

So where did I ended, I need to start writing down what I am doing every day. So June 5th I went to Acadia with Track. It was the weekend of provincials and I didn't make it but I got to go to support Sanne of course. How am I going to survive without her? So we woke up early to be at the school at 7:30 am. We had a great day at Acadia and to make it even better, Sanne got second with discuss so she can say she is second of Nova Scotia Senior girls. I'm a proud friend:). I stayed the night Friday on Saturday so we could bake apple-pie on Saturday for the bqq on Sunday. We started the morning with some Dutch pancakes that is almost getting a tradition. Two Canadian friends came over for breakfast too. Their first time eating Dutch pancakes and they put everything on it at once, white chocolate spread, icing sugar, chocolate sprinkles and don’t forget the syrup. After a good day I went home because the next morning mom and dad were coming to Brooklyn. I was awake early and around 10 they came. It was so weird to see them again after more then 9 months. In the afternoon we went to a bbq from nssip at a lake. I went swimming but it was really cold. Monday I went to school for the first two hours and after that I went home to bake apple pie with mom and dad for the family supper in the evening. We also drove around Liverpool and White point a bit. In the evening we had a family supper with the family and mom and dad. The rest of the week I had to go to school since exams where almost. Friday I left school after the second hour to go to Chester to visit one of my friends. We went to her nanny and went shopping in Halifax and also the next morning Dutch pancakes for breakfast. On Saturday mom and dad picked me up and we went to Halifax till Tuesday. In the evening we walked around downtown Halifax a bit and went out for sushiJ. Sunday we went for a walk by the waterfront and went to pier 21. This is the place where my uncles came in Canada for the first time. It was weird but also beautiful to see, read and hear about they came here and what they had to do before they could travel to Ontario. Monday we went shopping a bit and went to a little town at the other side of Halifax. Tuesday we went to Lunenburg and Mahone bay. I knew Sanne was in Lunenburg with her parents too so when I saw her I started running. We talked a bit and than we went home. Wednesday I went back to school since the exams started on Thursday. Thursday I wrote my first exam Physical active living. It went not bad. Friday I had calculus and after I went to Sanne. In the evening we went to White Point Beach Resort with Mieke, Mitch and someone else from nsisp. Mieke is one of the people from our organisation, travel active, and Mitch wanted to take us all out for supper. Saturday I went to the beach with some friends and baked pancakes with Sanne again. In the evening we went to Egeman and Rafael for a little party with some friends. Sanne and I took the pannekoeken with white chocolate spread, chocolate sprinkles, milka and stroopwafels. They all love it here. I stayed overnight at Sanne again and in the morning, I think you can guess, yes pancakes again. In the afternoon I went home to study some for my last exam on Monday. Sunday evening we went out for supper at the Chinese restaurant with the family for father’s day. Today I had my last exam chemistry. After the exams I went out for lunch with Sanne and Vivi. We went to lanes for nachos.

So next Tuesday I will be flying home. It looks far away but it will be Wednesday before I know. I will be eating Dutch pancakes in the Netherlands. I can’t wait for the broodjes kroket and bitterballen. But before I come home I will fly home I will have prom first and graduation and safe grad. Prom is Thursday and Monday is graduation with Monday on Tuesday night safegrad. I won’t be graduation but I will be going to safegrad. Safe grad is a little bit like our kolderdag but than its overnight and we are going to Halifax to a sport centre where we can go swimming, watch movies and play different sports.

The time has gone fast and it has been an amazing year. It has had its ups and downs like it used to have. I made so many amazing friends and I can’t wait to visit them all. Brazil, Japan, Spain, Germany Turkey and of course Canada. It will be weird to be back soon and not having them all around anymore.

Don’t worry I will write another blog when I am home back in the Netherlands about prom, graduation and of course my flight home and how the Dutch food tasted again. Pictures will come too but they will be earlier on facebook so look on my facebook Friday for sure.

I want to thank all the people who sent me cards, e-mails and presents. They are all going home with me.

Love,

Sanne

Reacties

Reacties

Piet en Hanneke

Een heel verhaal. We zijn blij dat we nu hebben gezien waar je de afgelopen 9 maanden bent geweest, hoe de school eruit ziet en dat we met een aantal leraren en de directeur van school hebben kunnen praten. En natuurlijk dat we eindelijk kennis hebben kunnen maken met je nieuwe familie hier in Canada. Een warme familie waar je zeer welkom bent. We hebben leren eten bij de sub-way, weten nu waar de Tim Hortens is en de Mac. Zelfs met je fysiotherapeut kennis kunnen maken.
Gezellige dagen gehad in Halifax, shopping....., maar ook pier 21. En heerlijke sushi gegeten. Donderdag zijn we bij de proms en daarna gaan we proberen om 10 maanden Canada mee naar huis te nemen....., zal nog niet meevallen. Praktische zaken gaan in de koffers mee, (wat zijn we blij dat we met Iceland air vliegen, pp. 46 kg mogen we meenemen ) alle herinneringen neem je mee in je hart. geef ze een heel bijzonder plekje, het is een ervaring die je nooit meer vergeet.
Wij vertrekken zaterdag al, jij mag je reis zelf afmaken en we zien je woensdag weer.
Liefs pappa en mamma

Nico

Sanne en ouders:

dapper en lief

Nico

Dinie van Oort

Een afscheid gaat niet voor niets vaak met een omhelzing: je mag de tijd nemen om stil te staan bij alle mooie herinneringen die je meeneemt.
Ik heb het leuk gevonden om je te volgen in het afgelopen jaar... en ik merk dat ik stiekem nog net zo trots op je ben als vorig jaar, toen je net geslaagd was voor je examen :-)
Ik wens je alvast een veilige vlucht terug naar huis.

anja en kees

Je kan terugkijken op een mooie tijd. Leuk dat je vader en moeder ook even konden zien waar je al die tijd geweest bent.
Geniet er nog even van! We zien je gauw weer terug,
groetjes!

wilmahoek@gmail.com

Hoi Sanne, Zo het zit er bijna op, fijn dat je je vader en moeder nog een tijdje bij je in de buurt had, nu kon jij ze van alles en nog wat laten zien. Super dat je kan terugkijken op zo'n mooie tijd. Geniet nog even van de laatste loodjes en tot spoedig ziens in Holland.

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active